An easy way to prototype web/mobile application ideas

Florian Clanet
4 min readNov 10, 2020

Why you should not run into code as a first step

Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

When you have a new idea, you don’t want to lose it !

And when this idea is a web or mobile application, you probably don’t want to spend two weeks trying to build it. And then find out that it’s not really what you want.

I was in this situation a few days ago and I tried to find out what tools I could use to have a basic prototype. I wanted to make a support to be able to show and discuss my idea with other people.

My goal here was to find a free and easy tool. I was not ready to spend some time learning a complete new process.

I just wanted to get it done !

I looked for this tool on my favourite search engine. After reading some articles, I quickly find out that I could use Keynote or Powerpoint.

Indeed, I know those tools and I use them regularly to expose my ideas. This is the case for a lot of people and even if you are not a Keynote master, don’t run, the learning curve is friendly.

So why not giving it a try?

Keynote / Powerpoint

This is probably the more obvious solution but you still need to think about it. It is usually used to prepare presentations or to…

--

--

Florian Clanet

Prototype Architect for Amazon Web Services | Cloud enthusiast | Lighting design passionate https://twitter.com/FlolightC